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Department of Natural Resources 
Division of Mining, Land and Water 

Fact Sheet: Annual Rent 
 
 
Background 
In 1989, the State of Alaska enacted a mineral location annual rental law, Alaska Statute 38.05.211, which requires locators 
and holders of state mining locations to pay an annual cash rental. The annual rental requirement applies to mining claims, 
leasehold locations, upland mining leases, offshore mining leases and prospecting sites on state land. Department 
regulations 11 AAC 86.215(f), 11 AAC 86.221, 11 AAC 86.260, 11 AAC 86.265, 11 AAC 86.313, 11 AAC 86.422, and 11 AAC 
86.541 identify how rental payments will be made. Please consult these regulations for specific requirements. 

What is the Annual Rental requirement? 
For Prospecting Sites, there is a one-time rental payment requirement of $305 which covers the two-year term of the site. 
For MTRSC Locations, Traditional Mining Claims, Leasehold Locations and Leases, the Annual Rental Fees are identified 
below: 

Annual Rental for Each Location 
(11 AAC 86.221(b)) 

Number of Years 
for Location 

Quarter-Section Size 
MTRSC Location 

(160 Acres) 

Quarter-Quarter Section 
MTRSC Location 

(40 Acres) 

Traditional Mining 
Claim or Leasehold 

Location Date Due 

Year 1 
Day 1 - September 1st of 

Mining Year Location Is Staked 

$165 $40 $40 45 Days From 
Posting Location 

2 - 5 $165 $40 $40 September 1st 

6 - 10 $330 $85 $85 September 1st 

11 or More $825 $205 $205 September 1st 
 

Annual Rental for Each Lease 
(11 AAC 86.313(c)) 

Number of Years 
of Lease 

Rental Amount Per Acre for 
Mining Lease Date Due 

Year 1 
Day 1 – September 1st of 

Mining Year Lease Inception* 

$1.03 45 Days From 
Lease Inception 

2 - 5 $1.03 September 1st 

6 - 10 $2.06 September 1st 

11 or More $5.16 September 1st 
      * The inception date for an upland mining lease is based on the age of the oldest mining claim or  
           leasehold location converted to the upland mining lease (11 AAC 86.313(c)). 
 
When are rental payments due and when does the Annual Rental year begin and end? 
The annual rental year follows the “Mining Year”, which begins and ends on September 1st at noon. It does not follow the 
calendar year. The first annual rental payment must be paid within 45 days of posting a new location pursuant to 11 AAC 
86.215. This payment covers your rental until noon of the following September 1st. Rent is paid in advance so as of the 
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September 1st following the date of posting the location, another rental payment is due, and must be paid within 90 days of 
that September 1st. Depending on when you stake your claim or initiate your lease, you may incur two rental payments 
within the same calendar year. Rental payments are not pro-rated. 

Subsequent annual rental payments are based on the annual rental year and are due September 1st and must be paid 
within 90 days afterward (usually November 30th). The penalty for failure to make a timely payment is forfeiture 
(abandonment) of the location, except in the case of a lease, in which case the lease is deemed in default. 

How is the first rental payment made on a new location? (Staked within the last 45 days) 
The locator of a new mining location can pay the first rental payment in two ways. The first rental payment can be made at 
the recording district office at the same time the location certificate (notice) is submitted for recording, or the locator may 
pay the first rental at a DNR Public Information Center. If rent is paid at the time of recording, the locator must complete 
and submit the required rental calculation worksheet with the claim(s) being recorded so the required rental can be timely 
credited to the locations. The number of claims shown on the worksheet must equal the number of documents submitted 
for recording. If the required worksheet is not attached or is not completed, the required rental payment cannot be 
posted to the newly recorded location(s) resulting in the recorded location(s) becoming forfeited (abandoned). For 
worksheet assistance, or to cure rental deficiencies, contact one of the Public Information Offices listed below. 

When will I be billed for a new mining claim? 
You may not receive a bill for the first rental payment due within 45 days of posting your new location(s). Due to processing 
time, new locations recorded between July 1st - August 31st may not be included on the September courtesy rental bill for 
the following rental year. Your first payment will only cover the rent due from the date your claim is located to 
September 1st. It is in your best interest to pay two years of Annual Rent when you record new mining claims staked over 
the summer to ensure your claims are not abandoned for failure to pay annual rent for the next mining year. 

How are subsequent rental payments made? 
The Department will attempt to mail each locator a courtesy bill that lists all active ADL Numbers and claim names shown in 
their name in September. It is a miner’s responsibility to make sure annual rent is paid for all claims. A copy of the 
Department’s courtesy bill or a letter that identifies the bill numbers and ADL Numbers that are being paid for must be 
included with your payment. 

Cross out claims on the courtesy bill that are not being paid for. DO NOT ADD ADL NUMBERS TO A BILL! Payments may 
be paid according to either the bill number or the ADL number. This will ensure your payments are being properly 
credited. Claims that you cross off the courtesy bill are not credited and will be abandoned by operation of law 
(AS 38.05.265) on December 1st of that rental year. 

Payments must be received no later than November 30th each year. Payments may be made online, via mail, or in person 
at one of the Public Information Centers (PIC). Online payments may be made at: 
https://dnr.alaska.gov/ccpayments/index.cfm until November 30th. Beginning December 1st payments must be made via 
mail, in person or by phone at PIC. 

Send Payment Via Mail To: Pay In Person or Phone at Anchorage PIC: Pay In Person or Phone at Fairbanks PIC: 

Department of Natural Resources 
Support Services Division 
550 West 7th Ave, Suite 1410 
Anchorage, AK 99501-3561 
Attention: Financial Services 

Department of Natural Resources 
Public Information Center 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1360 
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3561 
Monday thru Friday 
8:00 AM to 4:30 PM  
(907) 269-8400 
dnr.pic@alaska.gov 

Department of Natural Resources 
Public Information Center 
3700 Airport Way 
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709-4699 
Monday thru Friday 
8:00 AM to 4:30 PM (907) 451-2705 
fbx-pic@alaska.gov 

Statewide TTY – 711 for Alaska Relay or 1-800-770-8973 
 

https://dnr.alaska.gov/ccpayments/index.cfm
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What are the annual rental requirements for locations on state-selected land? 
Locations made on state-selected land do not require rental payments until the State receives conveyance of the land from 
the federal government. PLEASE NOTE: The first rental payment must be paid within 90 days of the date of conveyance 
pursuant to 11 AAC 86.215 or the claim will be closed. Your first rental payment only covers the period from the date of 
conveyance to the September 1st immediately following the conveyance. You may make a non-refundable deposit for the 
first rental on State-selected claims that will be credited to your first annual rental payment if the State receives 
conveyance of the selection. This will cover your first year of annual rent upon conveyance. The payment can be made at all 
locations listed above. However, there are risks. Please consult the fact sheet “Mining on State-Selected Land” for more 
information. Depending on when the land is conveyed to the State, you may incur two rental payments within the same 
calendar year. 

What happens if the rental payment is late? 
Late payments result in claims being abandoned under Alaska Statute 38.05.265. If you would like to cure your 
abandonment, you must pay a penalty equal to the annual rent for the mining claim or leasehold location that was 
abandoned. Late payments are only refunded if the Department receives a written request for the refund within 90 days 
after the date of payment. 

If a rental payment is timely submitted to the department, but the payment is less than the amount due, a deficiency notice 
will be issued and the locator will have 30 days from receipt of the notice to make the required payment in full. If full 
payment is received within 30 days, no penalty will be applied. If full payment is not received, the location(s) will be 
abandoned. If you would like to cure your abandonment of the claims, you must pay a penalty equal to the annual rent in 
addition to the deficiency. 

If another person has located a mining claim or leasehold location that includes all or part of your location during the 
period of the abandonment, your location cannot be cured. A locator of an abandoned location or a successor in interest 
may not relocate the location until one year after abandonment. Please consult the Fact Sheet on “Abandonment of a 
Mining Location and Options Available Under the Law” for more information. 

Who should I contact if I have further questions: 
Further information can be obtained at either of Public Information Center offices listed above. 
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