
Permits for Commercial Recreation 
Activity on State Owned Land 

 
 
Which State Owned Land? 
 
This information focuses on land managed by the Department of Natural Resources, 
Division of Mining, Land and Water. This agency is the primary manager of 
Alaska’s landholdings which include 89 million acres of uplands and 65 million 
acres of shorelands and tide/submerged lands.  After fulfilling all statehood land 
transfers, that will eventually total 106 million acres. 
 
Part of the Division of Mining, Land and Water’s responsibility is to make land 
available for Alaskans to use for recreational and commercial purposes.  This is 
often accomplished through the issuance of a permit. 
 
Who Needs a Permit? 
 
Some temporary uses of state land do not require a permit.  These uses are called 
“generally allowed” and include such things as hiking; snow machining; horseback 
riding; harvesting of berries or wild plants for personal, non-commercial use; 
landing a small aircraft; recreational goldpanning; travel using a highway vehicle 
with a curb weight of up to 10,000 pounds, including a four-wheel-drive vehicle and 
a pickup truck, or using a recreational-type vehicle (snowmachine, four-wheeler, 
etc.) with a curb weight of 1,500 pounds, if use does not cause or contribute to water 
quality degradation, alteration of drainage systems, significant rutting, ground 
disturbance, or thermal erosion; personal use of temporary camp that will be moved 
at least two (2) miles every 14 days or more frequently if use is occurring in a 
special use area in which a shorter camp term has been established; and (i) entry 
for commercial recreation purposes on a day-use basis with no overnight camps or 
unoccupied facilities that remain overnight, and (ii) entry by an air or water taxi 
services dropping off clients for guided or unguided recreation, as long as the use 
has been registered as required by 11 AAC 96.018.  
 
For a list of “Generally Allowed Uses,” and information on special use areas, 
contact the Department of Natural Resources, Public Information Center or one of 
the Division of Mining, Land and Water regional offices. 
 
Temporary uses of state land other than those that are “generally allowed” require a 
permit from the Division of Mining, Land and Water.  Examples of temporary uses 
that typically require a permit are seasonal commercial docks and mooring buoys, 
log transfer sites, portable repeaters, equipment staging areas, cross-country 
movement of heavy equipment and the harvest of state resources for commercial 
purposes. 
 

Definitions 
 
Permit.  A permit authorizes the temporary use of state land managed by the 
Division of Mining, Land and Water.  A permit allows for the establishment of 
temporary structures that can be removed from a site within 48 hours.  A permit 
does not grant a long-term property interest, and is revocable. 
 
For the purposes of this publication, the following information focuses on 
permits for temporary camps and floating facilities used in conjunction with 
commercial recreation activities. 
 
• Commercial recreation permit.  This permit is required of any commercial 

recreation business using temporary camps that will be moved every 14 days.  
On or before the 14th day, camps authorized under this permit must be relocated 
at least 2 miles. 

 
• Land use permit.  This permit is required of any commercial recreation 

business planning to use: (i) a temporary camp remaining in place either in an 
upland or shoreland location for more than 14 days. (Shorelands are those lands 
located below the ordinary high water mark of fresh waterbodies (i.e. lakes, 
rivers, streams, etc.) or (ii) a floating facility for any length of time on 
tide/submerged lands.  

 
How long will it take to get a permit? 
 
Commercial recreation permit.  This type of permit is specifically designed to 
provide quick authorization for those conducting a low impact recreational activity 
on state owned land.  A commercial recreation permit can be issued the same day as 
the completed permit form and appropriate land use fee are received by the Division. 
 
Land use permit.  The processing of a land use permit application begins with a 
minimum 30-day review.  After completion of any required reviews, the Division 
evaluates the comments received during the review period, and determines whether 
the issuance of a permit would be in the best interest of the state.  Permit issuance 
may take in excess of 60 days.  It is always best to give the Division as much lead 
time as possible. 
 
What forms do I need to fill out? 
 
Commercial recreation permit - a commercial recreation permit form. 
 
Land use permit - a land use permit application, required supplementals specific to 
type of use, a coastal zone questionnaire if the area is within the coastal zone, a 
1:63,360 scale USGS map identifying the location of the activity and a non-
refundable $100 filing fee. 
 



Prior to applying for any permit, check the land status and the applicable area 
plan!!! 
 
Do I need insurance? 
 
Commercial recreation permit.  Liability insurance and a performance guarantee 
may be required on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Land use permit.  Liability insurance coverage is required.  A performance 
guarantee is also required. 
 
Permit terms and conditions. 
 
The terms and conditions of a land use and commercial recreation permits address: 

• authorized structures 
• authorized use 
• site disturbance 
• fuel and hazardous substance management 
• garbage storage and disposal 
• wastewater disposal 
• site restoration 
• indemnification 
• compliance with federal, state, and local laws and ordinances 
 

Fees 
 

The annual fees for either a land use or commercial recreation permit are as follows: 
 

• $500 minimum annual fee for a permit authorizing temporary camp or floating 
facility use less than six months within a 12 month period); 

• $1,000 minimum annual fee for a permit authorizing temporary camp or 
floating facility use from six to 12 months. 

• $2 per visitor day for the use of the permitted facilities.  
 
If a public notice is required or deemed necessary, the applicant is responsible for 
paying the publication cost. 
 
Permit Duration 
 
A commercial recreation permit or a land use permit may be issued for a term of 
up to five years. 
 
Permit Renewal 
 
Commercial recreation permit.  Renewals may be issued immediately when a 
completed permit form and the required fee is received by the Division as long as 
the applicant complied with the terms and conditions of previous permits. 

 
Land use permit. Renewals may be issued in a shorter period of time if the 
permittee complied with the terms and conditions of previous permits, there are no 
significant changes in the development or operations plan and the use continues to 
be consistent with the effective land management plan. 
 
 
Permit selection process. 
 
Permits are issued on a non-competitive basis.  All applicants that meet specified 
qualifications are issued a permit as long as the Division determines that the 
issuance of the permit would be in the best interest of the state. 
 
Change of ownership or control of business entity. 
 
Permits are not transferable. 
 
Where do I apply, get forms, and get additional information? 
 
Permit applications should be sent to the appropriate office listed below for the 
region where activities will be conducted. Information and forms can be obtained at 
any of these offices. 
 

 
          Anchorage/Southcentral:          Fairbanks/Northern: 
          Public Information Center                             Public Information Center  
          550 West 7th Ave., Suite 1260          3700 Airport Way 
          Anchorage, AK  99501-3577          Fairbanks, AK 99709-4699 
          (907) 269-8400          (907) 451-2705 
                      
           
                                                 Juneau/Southeast: 
                                                 MLW Information Office 
                                                400 Willoughby St., Ste 400 
                                                Juneau, AK 99801 
                                                (907) 465-3511 
 
For additional Division of Mining, Land and Water information, please visit 
our homepage at: www.dnr.state.ak.us/mlw


